The 29th Yokohama Dance Collection Competition Winners Decided!

Yokohama Dance Collection was launched as a choreography competition in 1996, providing an international platform for dance in Japan. To date, it has featured over 500 finalists. These choreographers confront society and the other, the body and artistic expression, and continue to develop their work in a variety of directions, both at home and abroad. This competition is a place for choreographers, dancers, and other artists to pursue composition, direction, and technique in dance, and to challenge themselves to new possibilities of artistic expression. It also serves as a platform for artistic dialogue and exchange.

This year's competition received a total of 166 submissions from 14 countries and regions since it opened for applications from April 17 to June 16, 2023. 18 groups (Competition I: 8 groups, Competition II: 10 artists) were selected through a video and document screening process, and the winners of the following prizes were selected during the performance screening from November 30 to December 3, 2023.



Photo: Sugawara Kota

[Competition I]

- ■Jury Prize
 - Taka Mizuki "doldrums"
- ■Prize of the French Embassy in Japan Dance Reflections by Van Cleef & Arpels, for young choreographers

Omori Yoko "Instant"

■MASDANZA Prize

JI Jie (China) "Nowhere to turn"

■Kinosaki International Arts Center Encouragement Prize

Mohd Zulkarnain Bin Zuber <ASK Dance Company> (Malaysia) "Interchange"

Taka Mizuki "doldrums"

■Architanz Artist Support Prize

Taka Mizuki "doldrums"

■Toyohashi Arts Theatre PLAT Prize

Omori Yoko "Instant"

■Encouragement Prize

Park Su Yeol <SUMOVE> (Korea) "dating abuse"

[Competition II New Choreographer Division]

■Outstanding New Artist Prize

Takahashi Haruka "EAT"

■Architanz Artist Support Prize

Urashima Yuna "My habit"

■Best Dancer Prize

Sengoku Kotaro "is not stagnation" Hirata Shiori "machinegun person"

[Competition I JURY]

Umeda Hiroaki (Choreographer, Dancer, Visual Artist, Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse No.1 Choreographer)

Okami Sae (Dance Critic, Associate Professor of Kyoritsu Women's University)

Kitamura Akiko (Choreographer, Dancer, Professor of Shinshu University)

Kondo Ryohei (Founder of <Condors>, Choreographer, Dancer, Artistic Director of Saitama Arts Theater)

Hamano Fumio (Senior Editor of Shinshokan Dance Magazine)

Samson Sylvain (Cultural attaché of the French Embassy)

Simon Horrenberger (Director of the French Institute of Japan-Yokohama)

Delphine Vuattoux (Production and Distribution Director of Centre national de la Danse (CN D))

Serge Laurent (Van Cleef & Arpels' Director of Dance and Culture Program)

*The MASDANZA Prize, the Kinosaki International Art Center (KIAC) Prize, the Architanz Artist Support Prize and Toyohashi Arts Theatre PLAT Prize will be judged by representatives of each organization.

[Competition II JURY]

Vivienne Sato (Artist)

Kato Yumina (Director of Steep Slope Studio)

Suzuki Takuro (Head of the dance company CHAiroiPLIN, Choreographer, Director)

Hamano Fumio (Senior Editor of Shinshokan Dance Magazine)

^{*}The jury for the Architanz Artist Support Prize will be a representative of the organization.