

The 30th Yokohama Dance Collection Competition Winners Decided!

Yokohama Dance Collection was launched as a choreography competition in 1996, providing an international platform for dance in Japan. To date, it has featured approximately 500 finalists. These choreographers confront society and the other, the body and artistic expression, and continue to develop their work in a variety of directions, both at home and abroad. This competition is a place for choreographers, dancers, and other artists to pursue composition, direction, and technique in dance, and to challenge themselves to new possibilities of artistic expression. It also serves as a platform for artistic dialogue and exchange.

This year's competition received a total of 153 submissions from 13 countries and regions since it opened for applications from May 8 to June 25, 2024. 18 groups (Competition I: 8 groups, Competition II: 10 artists) were selected through a video and document screening process, and the winners of the following prizes were selected during the performance screening from November 28 to December 1, 2024.



Photo : Sugawara Kota

[Competition I]

■Jury Prize

Kim Na Eui, Jo Hyun Do (Korea) "Nonfiction"

■Prize of the French Embassy in Japan – Dance Reflections by Van Cleef & Arpels, for young choreographers Kobayashi Moe "ens"

MASDANZA Prize CHUANG Po-Hsiang (D_Antidote Production.) (Taiwan) "Remainder"

Architanz Artist Support Prize Huang Yanlin, Sun Mengyao (China) "Flashbulb Memory"
■Toyohashi Arts Theatre PLAT Prize Huang Yanlin, Sun Mengyao(China) "Flashbulb Memory"
Encouragement Prize asamicro "Wake up"
■Best Dancer Prize Huang Yanlin, Sun Mengyao(China) "Flashbulb Memory"
【Competition II New Choreographer Division】 ■Outstanding New Artist Prize Fukunaga Shoya "Contact Shots"
■Architanz Artist Support Prize Okada Yumi "In the first place" Fukunaga Shoya "Contact Shots"
■Encouragement Prize Toyama Haruhiro "I ∋ 2"
Best Dancer Prize Takahashi Akari "Reincarnation"
 [Competition I JURY] Okami Sae (Dance Critic, Associate Professor of Kyoritsu Women's University) Kimura Eriko (Director, Hirosaki Museum of Contemporary Art) Nagatsuka Keishi (Playwright, Director, Actor, Artistic Director of Kanagawa Arts Theatre (KAAT)) Hamano Fumio (Senior Editor of Shinshokan Dance Magazine) Yasumoto Masako (Dancer, Choreographer) Samson Sylvain (Cultural attaché of the French Embassy)
Delphine Vuattoux (Production and Distribution Director of Centre national de la Danse (CN D))
Serge Laurent (Van Cleef & Arpels' Director of Dance and Culture Program)
*The MASDANZA Prize, the Architanz Artist Support Prize and Toyohashi Arts Theatre PLAT Prize were judged by representatives of each organization.

[Competition II JURY] Kato Yumina (Director of Steep Slope Studio) Suzuki Takuro (Head of the dance company CHAiroiPLIN, Dancer, Choreographer, Director) Hamano Fumio (Senior Editor of Shinshokan Dance Magazine) Yoshigai Nao (Filmmaker, Dancer)

*The jury for the Architanz Artist Support Prize was a representative of the organization.